top of page

Generosity

It's been a while since I posted anything but I really want this blog to illustrate moments in my life where God's lessons are apparent. I don't notice those moments daily, not to say that they don't happen. But there are times, when the move of God is so apparent, you can't help but see it. Such are the events of today...

A co-worker and I are on a work trip this week. We went out to lunch at a burger place. While there an older, elderly woman sat in the both across from us. I, engrossed in my own experience, as we can be at times, saw her but didn't see her. My friend and I talked on minding our own experience.

The waitress came and went. Taking our order, delivering our food and drinks, checking on our experience. Just as we began to eat, the lady in the next booth started a conversation with my friend. It didn't have a point to it as I assumed it did. After a few comments, I realized the lady was making conversation. The conversation paused and my friend started eating.

We caught eyes shortly thereafter and she gestured to my phone. I picked up my phone to see that she had texted me. She said, "I think the lady next to us is homeless, should we buy her something to eat?" The text appalled me because the thought never occurred to me. I glanced toward her using my peripheral sight and I see the overflowing bag, worn clothing, and deep wrinkled skin that suggested a hard lived life. Ding! I texted back "yes, we should. I hadn't noticed."

We waited for our waitress to return and I leaned over to her and told her that we'd like to buy the lady next door lunch. The waitress told her. She was so grateful. She asked the waitress what was the special and ordered. The lady thanked us again and began conversing with us again. This time more animated and story telling. I realized that she just wanted someone to talk to and she was taking her chance. I engaged with her for a little while and then fell back to my meal.

We finished eating. I asked for the checks and paid them all separately. We left musing over how blessed we are and how all of us forget that.

Tonight, we headed to dinner. Same as before, we ordered, food arrived, we ate. While we sat, the booth across from us filled with 6 elderly people. Again I noticed but didn't notice. We finished our meal and asked for the checks. The waitress set them on the table, turned, then immediately turned again and scooped them up. She whispered to us that she didn't know what the man was doing. Not understanding, she spoke with the man, handed him both our bills, then came back to us and said, the man's going to buy your dinner. My friend and I were flabbergasted. We looked at each other and I said to her "that is God at work."

I have heard in church that we cannot beat God giving. The meal we bought was about $10. The meal we received was more than that. I'm not sure how much more because we never had a chance to even look at the tab. But considering their were two of us appetizers, entrees, and drinks. I know the gentleman bought more than we spent earlier.

Lesson learned: Matthew 10:42 (HCSB) And whoever gives just a cup of cold water to one of these little ones because he is a disciple--I assure you: He will never lose his reward!

God is good...All the time!

bottom of page