top of page

Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego

Lesson for our time


Daniel 3:1


Driving home yesterday (the day of the riots), I sat at a traffic light. As I waited I had a thought, Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego.


This was no ordinary thought. It seemed to originate outside of me. Like it was being spoken to me. I repeated the thought Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego and it wasn't the same. I was convinced. This was an external thought that I had received.


So I came home and searched the Hebrew Boys in Bible App. Daniel 3:1. Paraphrased.


King Nebuchadnezzer installed a gold statue of himself. He decreed that all bow down to it when instruments played. The Hebrew Boys refused. When threatened with being thrown into the fire for their refusal, they said confidently, My God can save me but even if he doesn't, we're not bowing down to you or your statue. For their trouble they were thrown into the blazing furnace.


The King was shocked to see that Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego were unharmed in the fire. They had been rescued by a fourth person that looked like the sons of the gods, according to Nebuchadnezzar. King Nebuchadnezzar called them out of the furnace and proclaimed that their God is the only God that can save His people like this. Therefore anybody that spoke against their God would be punished.


What's the parallel? Why would I be directed to this scripture? The scene at the Capital was caused by many worshipping a man in a similar position as Nebuchadnezzar. He's not an authoritarian but I believe he'd like to be.

The pressure to follow him is intense. So intense that to deny him, results in immediate retribution. Up to and including violent attacks. These attacks are not only physical. They are mental and emotional attacks that could separate you from God's decree of loving your neighbors as He loves you and as you love yourself.


Looking at Nebuchadnezzar's kingdom. Difference was not allowed. All were expected to fall in line and worship the image of the King. Today's leader thrives on adulation and total surrenderance of self. He manipulates the differences between us and uses them as reasons to hate.


The parallels clear. I understand the prompting toward this scripture. Just as the Hebrew Boys faced this day of reckoning so are we. Will we continue to blindly follow a man, an earthly man? Will we continue to worship the modern day gold statue? Or will we refuse, stand up and confidently proclaim our allegiance to the one and only God in Heaven that can remove us from any situation. He can surround us, shield us, replace us, and secure us from every earthly danger. Even the King recognized God was greater than he. Can we say, even if He doesn't save us, we will not bow down and worship another god/man.





bottom of page